The fortress is over 900 years old and was originally built to guarantee the safety of the archbishops; while also serving as barracks and a prison. Today’s exterior was designed by Archbishop Leonhard von Keutschach. Of particular interest are the fortress museum and the medieval stately chambers. The interior of the fortress was furnished to impress with magnificent gothic carvings, ornamental paintings and frescos, and decorative gold leaf – all of which attests to the wealth of the prince bishops.
Salzburg’s ‘Wunderkind’ – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – was born in what is known as the ‘Hagenauer House’ at no. 9 Getreidegasse on the 27th January 1756. He lived there with his sister ‘Nannerl’ and his parents until 1773. Mozart’s ‘Geburtshaus’ now houses a museum open all year round.
Leopold and Anna Maria Mozart lived on the third floor of the ‘Hagenauer House’ at no. 9 Getreidegasse for a total of 26 years, from 1747 to 1773. The house was named after its owner, the merchant, purveyor of spices and friend of the Mozart family, Johann Lorenz Hagenauer. On the 27th January 1756 it became the birthplace of the now world famous Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.
Museum in Mozart’s Geburtshaus in the Getreidegasse
In 1880 the International Mozarteum Foundation set up the first museum in Mozart’s ‘Geburtshaus’. Over the decades it has undergone a systematic process of remodelling and expansion and it is now a place of cultural interest that attracts thousands of visitors to Salzburg from all over the world. Mozart’s ‘Geburtshaus’ has earned its status as one of the most frequently visited sights and places of interest in Austria.
Mozart’s ‘Geburtshaus’ guides guests through the original rooms in which the Mozart family lived and presents a range of artefacts, including historical instruments, documents, keepsakes and mementos, and the majority of the portraits painted during his lifetime. One such example is the unfinished oil portrait painted by Mozart’s brother-in-law Joseph Lange in 1789 – ‘Wolfgang Amade Mozart at the piano’. Among the most famous exhibits are Mozart’s childhood violin, his clavichord, portraits and letters belonging to the Mozart family.
The musical instruments exhibited in Mozart’s Geburtshaus were passed on from Mozart’s widow, Constanze Nissen, through her sons Carl Thomas and Franz Xaver Wolfgang, and are now owned by the International Mozarteum Foundation.
The building now accommodates a museum showing the various stations of the lives of the Mozart family. The building is now commonly known as ‘Mozarts Wohnhaus’ and no-one knows where Hannibalplatz is as its latter-day name is Markartplatz.
A new home for the Mozart family
The new, more spacious home provided enough room to entertain friends and musicians. From 1773 until 1787 a total of 232 letters are known to have been written by the Mozart family from this address, and a total of 215 letters exist that were delivered to this address. In the course of history many letters have been lost or destroyed.
Mozart’s mother died in Paris in 1778, and in 1784 his sister, Nannerl, married and moved to St. Gilgen. Leopold now occupied the spacious home on his own. On the 25th July 1785 his grandson Leopold Alois Pantaleon was born here and placed in his care. Following Leopold Mozart’s death on the 28th May 1787 ownership of the house changed hands several times.
The history of the Tanzmeisterhaus
The existence of the building was first documented in 1617. Until 1685 it was divided into two separate sections. In 1711 Lorenz Spöckner was given permission to provide dancing instruction for nobles and aristocrats. According to a census conducted in 1713 the building was referred to as the ‘Tanzmeisterhaus’. The house was handed down to court dancing instructor and ‘ante camera’ chamber servant, Franz Karl Gottlieb Speckner, Lorenz Spöckner’s son, on the 9th September 1739. At the time, the court dancing instructor had a very prestigious role. As well as teaching dancing skills, he was also responsible for guiding young members of the aristocracy and nobility through the complex etiquette necessary for ceremonial life at court.
When Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s parents married on the 15th November 1747 Franz Gottlieb Spöckner was one of their witnesses. When Speckner died at the age of 62 the building was inherited by his cousin Maria Anna Raab. The Tanzmeisterhaus was no longer used to host balls and Maria Anna Raab rented the rooms out. After the Mozarts’ third trip to Vienna they arranged to rent rooms in the Tanzmeisterhaus.
Mozart’s ‘Wohnhaus’ after the Second World War
On the 16th October 1944 two thirds of the house were destroyed in an air raid. The owner at the time sold the bombed section of the building to Assicurazioni Generali, who then erected an office building subsequently purchased by the International Mozarteum Foundation in 1989. The International Mozarteum Foundation had already acquired the surviving section of the Tanzmeistersaal hall for museum purposes in 1955. On the 2nd May 1994 the office building was demolished and on the 4th May reconstruction of the original house was commenced according to old structural plans. On the 26th January 1996 Mozart’s ‘Wohnhaus’ was reopened.
Salzburg’s Zoo keeping animals, both native and exotic, in an environment close to their natural surroundings has become the hallmark of Salzburg’s Zoo. One of the zoo’s main goals is to ensure a harmonious balance between the beauty of the local landscape in Hellbrunn and the natural environment of the animals. Special habitats are continually being developed, enabling visitors of all ages to experience the natural balance between flora and fauna. These habitats have been created using natural materials to enable animal communities from similar surroundings to be observed together in captivity.
In the new “African Savannah”, for example, rhinoceros, antelopes and guinea-fowl co-exist. Other exhibits show the fauna in America or the animals in Eurasia (bears and lynx, chamois, groundhogs and river otters). A visit to Hellbrunn is an educational experience for young and old. Observing familiar local species and creatures from other continents is both entertaining and informative. Take the time to wander through the spacious zoological landscape and experience the life on other, often distant continents.
Roughly 1200 animals (140) species) live in the 14-hectare zoological garden in near-natural, spacoius outdoor enclosures – including white rhinoceros, poison arrow frogws and free-flying griffon vultures. Animal life in Eurasia, Africa and South America can be explored in a short peroid of time.
400 years Hellbrunn – a jewel on the outskirts of Salzburgs
Enjoy a visit to Hellbrunn in the south of Salzburg City. Its fantastic palace grounds offer marvelous diversity, both summer and winter.
The broad park represents an intriguing blend of sculpted grounds and natural biotopes. Likewise, the trick fountains are an experience unlike anywhere else. You are certain to be delightfully surprised!
The extensive green spaces surrounding Hellbrunn invite you to unwind as well as enjoy healthful outdoor exercise. Smaller Hellbrunn visitors can work off some of their youthful energy at an exciting playground. And animal lovers, big and small, are able to marvel at animals from around the world at Hellbrunn Zoo.
Stiegl – World of Brewing
Explore the world of beer with all your senses
No other place is more capable of acquainting guests with the world of this popular barley drink so tangibly, visibly and interactively than Stiegl Brauwelt within Salzburg’s oldest privately-owned brewery. Visitors can look forward to a unique 270° Stiegl brewery cinema experience, the famous beer tower and an opportunity to sample some great beer.
The beer tower features all of Austria’s bottled beers and is just one of the highlights of a visit to the Stiegl Brauwelt. The beer discovery tour begins in the brewery shop. Then Stiegl’s 270° cinema shows the Stiegl blockbuster ‘The nature of beer’. A unique projection technique gives visitors the feeling of being part of the action, and not just mere spectators.
The horses bring the beer
Visitors can then see the in-house brewing facilities and find out everything about the drink’s raw ingredients and also lots of fascinating facts about the world of beer. For example, did you know that until the 16th century beer brewing was almost exclusively women’s work? Or did you know it’s a time-honoured tradition for a couple of two-horse carts to deliver Stiegl beer to local pubs and restaurants around the town?
The Stiegl Brauwelt beer tower
Once you have seen the master brewers in action there’s an opportunity to enjoy the products of their labours. Visitors can check out the sampling and beer maturation cellar, and seize the rare chance to taste the ingredients and sample partly matured beers.
At last, it’s time to see the most popular subject for photos in the whole brewery – the beer tower! Finally, the tour ends in the Stiegl Museum, after which guests can also go to one of the many Brauwelt restaurants and buffets to enjoy some great down-to-earth culinary fayre.
Good to know: Guests can register in advance and even brew their own personal blend of beer. More information is available at Stiegl Brauwelt.